Best brownies

I’ve loved baking ever since I started my third year in uni, and I’m amazed how far I’ve progressed since my first batch of apple muffins that rather more resembled rocks than anything truly edible.

Anyway, I found this recipe for brownies that year and loved it simply because it was so simple. There’s no need to melt chocolate or anything fussy like that.

However over time I’ve adapted this recipe and to be perfectly honest I don’t think any two batches of brownies have ever been the same. One major change I’ve made is to substitute the cup of sugar in the original recipe for 3/4 cup of soft brown sugar, or a 3/4 cup mix of caster and muscovado, depending on what I had in the cupboard at the time. Another really nice addition is chunks of chopped chocolate because nobody says no to the extra surprise burst of gooey, melted chocolate.

What has always remained the same however is that the brownies were always eagerly welcomed, and disappear remarkably quickly.

IMG_0058

 

Thanks Browneyedbaker!

Leave a Reply

