Politics

I was reading the news on my laptop earlier today which meant I had multiple tabs open for The Guardian, The Telegraph and The NY Times. Generally I enjoy the fashion and lifestyle news more, but I do make the effort to read the more serious articles in the news and finance sections.

A while back my tentative dip into NY Times’ international news section revealed this article about the development of Tianjin, in China as a financial district. It all seemed to be a rather bland  write up about a politician involved in the rapid growth and promotion of the financial district in Tianjin, until I reached the part about the so-called ‘Princelings’. Princelings are the offspring of past and present officials in China, and they in turn are considered as potential heirs to their parents’ positions.

Now call me simple, but I thought China got rid of their emperor and the nobility to create a country that provided equal opportunities to everyone?

I suppose my housemate’s rather cynical outlook on politics in general goes some way to explaining what happened in China. He thinks that politicians do sometimes do good with their policies, but if you take a good look, you’ll most probably find something that was put in there for their benefit. I do not claim to be an expert on politics, far from it. However there is definitely some truth in what he says. If you look at politicians, many, if not most of them come from a background that gave them an advantage that the average person might not have, be it education, connections or both.

Perhaps the the utopia of a world where everyone is equal and happy is just that.  It probably will never happen but I suppose working towards it doesn’t hurt.

Leave a Reply

