Nothing is impossible

Image

I’ve been following Joyce Meyer: Promises for Your Everyday Life – a Daily Devotional on my iPhone Bible app and recently a lot of the lessons have focused on avoiding a negative state of mind.

One point that stood out to me today is: problems are impossible – in the natural. However, the lesson goes on to point out that God is not just natural. He is far more than that. She continues to write that focusing on who God is, and basing your mindset on His Word can lead to understanding that nothing is impossible for God. This in turn leads to positive thoughts. Finally, when you think positively, problems that previously seemed insurmountable no longer seem so and solutions begin to present themselves. 

I used to be a glass-empty sort of person. After reading these devotionals I now understand that that sort of thinking actually contradicts any statements that I make with regards to my faith in God. As I continue to declare my faith in His greatness I have to back up my statement with actions. 

The verse for today’s devotional refers to John the Baptist’s mother, Elizabeth. An angel was telling Jesus’ mother, Mary, that she would give birth to a child even though she was a virgin. When Mary voiced her doubt, the angel told her about Elizabeth, her elderly relative.

36 Even Elizabeth your relative is going to have a child in her old age, and she who was said to be unable to conceive is in her sixth month. 37 For no word from God will ever fail.”

38 “I am the Lord’s servant,” Mary answered. “May your word to me be fulfilled.” Then the angel left her.
Luke 1:36-38 (NIV)

So I’ve decided that from now on I will view all situations with a perspective that backs up my proclamation of faith, and to not be disheartened when things appear to work against me. God is with me and for Him, nothing is ever impossible. 

Leave a Reply

