Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 in Pictures

I saw this challenge and thought it would be worth trying. I’ve always enjoyed looking through piles of old letters and cards and I imagined this challenge would be similar.

2012 was a mixed year for me; parts of it have been pretty near perfect, while other parts were decidedly less so. I’ve treated this challenge as an exercise in reflection.

January:

My birthday meal – the original plan was for my best friend to cook for me. Unfortunately, she had the world’s craziest flatmate who decided to bin all the ingredients “because she didn’t want the flat to be noisy”. Fortunately, we live near some very nice restaurants and so still managed to have a great evening.

Image

February:

It snowed! I had a hard time deciding which picture to choose. In the end I chose this because I love the movement of the people. It just perfectly captures the atmosphere that day. We don’t get much snow in England, so whenever it does snow everyone goes a bit mad. This picture reminds me of how carefree I was that day. Image

March:

I was on the train, going past the East Midlands Parkway. It’s a journey I used to go on quite regularly, travelling between Nottingham and London. This picture has managed to capture the industrial quality of the place and I think the reflection in the window of the other side of the aisle gives the picture an extra dimension.

IMG_0470

March/April:

Outside the Natural History Museum, meeting up with old uni friends.

IMG_0500

At the end of the day, walking through Kensington Gardens towards Bayswater in search of Chinese food.

IMG_0512

Lunchtime at St Thomas’ Hospital

IMG_0531

Russell Square

IMG_0534

May:

Having lunch at Chives Cafe on the top floor the Canterbury Waterstone’s, looking down at the cafe across the street.

IMG_0568

June:

Fourth event down – one of the most important days of my career.

IMG_0597

July:

8th July 2012- Roger Federer beat Andy Murray in the Men’s Singles Final 4–6, 7–5, 6–3, 6–4. It was such a dramatic match and I’m so glad I finally got to experience Wimbledon.

IMG_0718

The Whitstable Oyster Festival.

IMG_0822 IMG_0790

August:

View of Canterbury Cathedral from the High Street.

IMG_0935

September:

The view on part of my running route. This was a rare occasion when I took my phone with me.

IMG_0738

October:

Best seat in a cafe in Canterbury. It’s in a tiny side room, just big enough for two tables. Unfortunately countless other people have now found this spot and I’ve not been able to sit there since I took this picture.

IMG_0616

November:

One of the most impressive bookshops I’ve ever seen – the Birmingham New Street branch of Waterstone’s. I asked around and it turns out it used the be the former site of a Midland Bank branch.

IMG_1104IMG_1095IMG_1100IMG_1099

December:

One of my best friends decided to get me a ticket for the Christmas ball where I used to work. It was such a great night and made me realise that even though I am jobless and my savings are rapidly declining, I am still so incredibly blessed.

Onward to 2013!

IMG_1239

I had to be quite ruthless in selecting pictures for this challenge, and I definitely did not manage to cover all the aspects of my year. Nevertheless, after completing the challenge I can conclusively state that I had a great year and that despite my disappointments, I don’t think I’d change it.

Leave a Reply

