Blue skies and whole wheat apple muffins

Image

Last week I found that I had a surplus of apples which coincided with an odd muffin craving. Even though I didn’t have any paper cases I wanted muffins so much that I risked baking them straight into my non-stick silicon muffin tin. Unfortunately it wasn’t quite as non-stick as I thought it was; however I managed to rescue most of the muffins.

I followed the recipe, which I found from Smitten Kitchen exactly as it was posted, with one exception: I mixed a little demerara sugar and oats and sprinkled this mixture on top of the muffins just before I put them in the oven. I rather like extra texture it gives, and besides, it just looks plain nice!

The muffins were lovely and moist and using dark brown sugar gives them an extra level of flavour that regular castor sugar just doesn’t have.

Image

As for the picture of the blue sky, I took a few pictures in the morning just after I ate breakfast the other day and I thought the sunrise was worth sharing. I love the way the clothes pegs hang at different angles – their silhouette and those of the bare trees stand out so well against the tail end of the sunrise.

Leave a Reply

