Sort of Chinese sandwich

Sort of Chinese sandwich

As tomorrow is the first day of Chinese New Year, I thought I’d write about my lunch today, which was inspired by Chinese flavours.
I’d roasted a chicken earlier this week, seasoning it very simply with salt and pepper and since then I’ve been using the meat in a variety of recipes, of which this is one.
All I did was reheat some breast meat in the microwave, seasoned with a little five spice powder, pepper, a dash of light soy sauce and a drizzle of sesame oil. Then I served it up in (and on) some warm, toasted wholemeal pitta bread with slices of cucumber and a healthy dash of mayo.
This was possibly one of the quickest, simplest ways to recreate all the flavours of a Chinese meal in the convenience of a sandwich.
And to all the Chinese out there, 恭喜发财!

Leave a Reply

