Spring, with a whisper of summer, via brownies

Admittedly not my most original baking post as I made brownies, again.

In my defence, it’s a different brownie recipe, and one I made without the convenience of my scales or measuring spoons. I was over at my best friend’s flat and she doesn’t own scales, measuring cups or spoons. It’s amazing how dependent I’ve become on my baking equipment, when only a few years ago I didn’t even know that measuring spoons existed.

So I stepped into her kitchen and asked for the scales. Scales? What scales? Fortunately her flatmate owned a measuring jug. Then it was on to Google to find out the equivalent of a cup to mls on the jug. I have a funny feeling that the quantities I ended up with may not have been exactly what the original recipe called for, but the end result was still delicious.

This time the only change I made to the original recipe (apart from my suspect measuring devices) was to add about 50-60 g of dark chocolate chips to the brownie mix. Other than that the recipe is exactly as Deb, of Smitten Kitchen  posted it, here.

I used the melting in the microwave method as I didn’t really feel like setting up the water bath. It came out fine, as the following pictures can attest.

Image

Image

Note: The first picture was taken in the kitchen, where the fluorescent lights drained all the warmth from the brownies. The second picture was taken at the dining table where I think the yellow lights show the true colour of the brownies much better.

I ate my brownie with some fantastic vanilla ice cream, after popping it in the microwave for a few seconds to warm it up again. As predicted, it was the perfect combination. I left the tray at my friend’s place and apparently the brownies also work very well eaten cold by themselves, as a tea time treat. They also get more dense and fudge-like after being kept overnight.

On another note, I’m really enjoying the flowers that I see when I’m walking around. Even though it is technically still spring, I can’t help but get excited when I think about summer – the heat, the colours, the new smells and sounds on the street. I’ve even found walking out of the house without being wrapped in layers and layers of wool oddly enough, rather liberating. I say oddly because I actually love dressing up and matching up (or mis-matching) the layers.

Anyway, enough of my ruminating and onto more flower photos:

Image

Image

Image

Image

This was a selection of my favourites. I loved the bright colours and the contrast between purple, green and yellow in the first few photos. However, I did also like the simplicity of the white flowers in the last photo, so much that when I took the picture I intentionally left out the blue/purple flowers that grew right next to them.

Now that the weekend is over, I regret to say that it’s raining again. Oh well. I suppose all those flowers do need watering.

Leave a Reply

