Banana muffins

As I ran through the ingredients for this recipe again, I realised that I’d made a vegan recipe! I’m not vegan or even vegetarian, so I don’t usually look out for vegan recipes although I do consult blogs dedicated to vegan food as I love the creativity needed to make a nutritious yet tasty meal without meat.

I found this particular recipe because I ran out of eggs and the shops close at 4.30pm on Sundays. I’m going for an interview early tomorrow morning so I wanted take a packed breakfast with me, and the more I thought about it, the more I wanted muffins, specifically banana muffins, as I have a couple brownish bananas in the kitchen.

The original recipe was simple and I only made a few changes, mainly substitutions because of ingredient availability, with the exception of two: I omitted baking soda because I felt that adding it might make it taste funny (I’ve had bad experiences with excessive baking soda). I also added 1/4 teaspoon of ground cinnamon because I like the taste.

Image

Below is the recipe as I made it:

Banana muffins (vegan)
– adapted from Spark Recipes

Makes 12 muffins

110 g all-purposeflour
110 g wholewheat flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
2 ripe medium bananas, mashed
3 tbsp vegetable oil
140 g sugar (half castor, half dark muscovado)
approx 120 mls apple and raspberry juice (original recipe was plain apple juice)
1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 180°C. Line a muffin pan with cases.
Mix flour, baking powder and cinnamon together in one bowl. Set aside.
Mix bananas, oil, sugar, juice and vanilla extract in another bowl.
Slowly add flour mix to banana mix, folding in gently till blended in. Take care not to overmix batter.
Fill each case about 2/3 full. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

