Skinny cheesecake

Last week I made this cheesecake twice, the first time to try out the newly discovered recipe, and the second because I enjoyed the first attempt so much. Also I had friends over.

We had oven baked “fried” chicken, using a recipe I saw on the Food Network on a show called Not My Mama’s Meals. They call it Unfried Chicken, and I was amazed that it isn’t actually the grease and oily skin that makes a good piece of fried chicken, rather it’s the crunch, which the cornflakes manage to produce very well.

However we dove into the chicken so quickly that I completely forgot to take pictures, so I’ll move on to the cheesecake I made instead.

I found the recipe on a blog called Parsley, Sage & Sweet; this post in turn came from another blog called Cook Book of Trial and Error. I was attracted to the idea that you could make a decent cheesecake from a cheese that is pretty much fat free (the quark I bought has 0.2% fat), and the comments seemed promising.

Still, I was rather skeptical, but it was an easy recipe to put together and quark is cheaper than regular cream cheese, so I thought it was worth the attempt. 

Conclusion: I love this recipe. The cheese has a really fluffy, light texture, so much so that I was in danger of eating far, far more than a single serving. There aren’t too many ingredients and there’s no need for the fussy water bath that you get in so many regular cheesecake recipes. I’ll definitely be making it again, especially after the compliments I got from everyone else who had some.

I ended up using the recipe from Cook Book of Trial and Error because most of the measurements were in grams, as opposed to cups, which I don’t have. I made changes mostly due to ingredient availability – digestive biscuits instead of animal crackers and Greek yogurt instead of sour cream because I had the Greek yogurt and didn’t want to buy another ingredient. However, I did reduce the butter in the base because the original blogs mentioned that the recipe had too much butter. I also reduced the sugar out of habit.

Image

So here’s what I used:

Skinny Cheesecake
– adapted from Parsley, Sweet & Sage and Cook Book of Trial and Error

makes a 9 inch round cake or 5″ x 7″ square cake

For the base:
130g crushed digestive biscuits
50g melted butter

For the cheese layer:
500g quark
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs
100g caster sugar

For the top layer:
300g fat free Greek yogurt
50g caster sugar

Preheat oven to 200°C.
Mix the crushed digestive biscuits with the melted butter until all the butter is incorporated into the crumbs. Press this into an even layer on the bottom of the cake tin or pan.
Mix all the ingredients for the cheesecake layer together in a separate bowl. Ensure the mixture has a uniform consistency, then pour on top of the biscuit base, using a spatula to ensure an even layer.
Bake for 5 minutes at 200°C, then lower temperature to 180°C and continue baking for a further 15 minutes.
While the cake bakes, mix the Greek yogurt and sugar together in a bowl for the top layer. After 20 minutes, remove the cake from the oven, pour on the top layer and then return the cake to the oven and bake for a further 5 minutes.
Allow to cool to room temperature, then chill in the fridge for around 2 hours before serving.

**Note: both blogs give great tips on cheese substitutions. They’re worth a read if you can’t get hold of quark.

Image

2 thoughts on “Skinny cheesecake

Leave a Reply

